24. J.M. Synge “Playboy of the Western World”

18 Mar

580536_10151511579518216_616061884_n

Nominated by Kitty Smith

One Sentence Review-

Darkly ridiculous and wonderful from start to finish.

Extended Review-

It’s years, possibly more than ten, since I last read Playboy of the Western World and I found the experience of revisiting this classic piece of Irish theatre both deeply nostalgic and incredibly fresh. Both the Irish literature which I’ve read in the last decade and the enormous mountains of local history and culture which I’ve had to take on board for work, made this read a much richer, resonant experience than my undergrad studies of Synge. I found myself really appreciating the absurd and better understanding the peculiarity of the dark Irish humour. I loved the language which is lyrical and clumsy in places, but always incredibly visceral. My only regret is, as with reading any play, that I haven’t ever had opportunity to see this particular play performed.

Kitty also recommends-

Patrick DeWitt “The Brothers Sisters”

Kitty Smith lives in Belfast, Northern Ireland. She is a furious reader and a great conversationalist; a first port when in search of a good book recommendation. She is married to Simon and was one of the first people to encourage me in my writing. For this and other kindnesses I am very thankful.

One Response to “24. J.M. Synge “Playboy of the Western World””

  1. canalways March 18, 2013 at 2:05 pm #

    Pegeen and shebeen..loved that book for GCSE

Leave a comment